2014 Williamson County Convention a Big Success

Williamson County Libertarians continued to see growth in 2014, with a tripling of participation in our March 11th Precinct Convention, and a doubling of delegate participation at our County Convention on March 15th. This years County Convention, held at the Round Rock Public Library, nominated the following candidates:

  • Justin Billiot for Texas House of Representatives, District 136
  • Meta Lyons-Bates for County Commissioner, Precinct 2
  • Robert Frische for County Commissioner, Precinct 4
  • Erwin “Danny” Michael for Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2
  • Irene Johnson for Texas House of Representatives, District 52

County Officers for the upcoming two-year term were also unanimously elected, including our new Chairman, Robert Butler.  Joining him are Bo Zimmerman as Vice-Chair, Irene Johnson as Secretary, and Matt Whittington as Treasurer.  The Williamson County LP Executive Committee is made up of up to two representatives from each of the county’s four JP precincts. The executive committee for 2014-2016 includes Erik Ellison from Precinct 1, Matt Whittington and Daniel Michael from Precinct 2, James Andrews and Jason Kute from Precinct 3, and Mark Aspenweiter from Precinct 4.

Delegates to District and State Conventions were also selected.  To the April 2014 Libertarian Party of Texas State Convention go: Matt Whittington, Mark Aspenweiter, Bo Zimmerman, Robert Butler, Jaclyn Finkel, Daniel Michael, and Heather Fazio.    A motion was also approved to allow all remaining delegates who expressed interest to be considered alternate delegates, should the state party alter its rules to accommodate them.

Lastly, in addition to voicing it’s approval for our 3 District Convention Candidates, the convention delegates unanimously approved two resolutions for the State Convention.